The Internet is Everywhere…Literally!

This week in class, we watched a TED Talk about new technology that literally allows your internet browser to be projected on any flat surface.  The device is made from a smart phone, a camera, a mirror, a mini projector, and a web cam.  The combination of these things allows for users to project a computer screen on any surface, and use their hands to navigate through web pages.  Now, this sounds pretty neat, until you get into the nitty-gritty of it all.  People using this device can simply look towards any person on the street, and use the web cam and facial recognition technology to look said individual up on the internet, and even project facts about the person onto their shirt!  I don’t know about you, but I’m not a huge fan of my personal information being projected across my chest.  Doesn’t that sound a little crazy?

Back to the cool bit of this technology.  It would be pretty neat to be able to access the internet anywhere and on any surface, and that probably has a variety of practical applications.  There are a lot of uses for unlimited access to the internet–but isn’t that why smart phones were developed?    Personally, I think that this is taking things a step too far.  People are already so incredibly closed off from the world through use of things like iPods.  I can’t even begin to tell you the number of times where I’ve said hello to someone who I pass on my way to class, and they don’t even acknowledge me because they are in their own little world of music.

I think that there comes a point when technology has gone too far, and I think that we are nearing that point.  What happened to “the good old days” when in order to ask a question of someone nearby, you actually had to walk over to said person and ask them face-to-face?  Personally, I love face-to-face interaction, and feel that technology is nearing a point where this type of communication is inhibited.

What are your thoughts?  Is there a point when technology goes too far into the realm of cutting off in-person interactions?  How close are we to that point?

Leave a Reply

